Approved Minutes Emmet County Board of Supervisors March 17, 2020 Regular Meeting 9:00 a.m. Board Room, Courthouse

Present: John Pluth, Chair Jeff Quastad, Vice-Chair Tim Schumacher Todd Glasnapp Absent: Roger Hash

Chairman Pluth, called the meeting to order. All in attendance recited the Pledge of Allegiance. Motion by Quastad, second by Glasnapp, to approve the minutes from last week's regular Board meeting also approving them for publication. All ayes, motion carried.

During public forum, John Pluth shared that he received a call from the Department of Human Services that they wanted to meet with Emmet County since Emmet is now non-contingent with the mental health region County Social Services. Pluth then spoke with Bob Lincoln from County Social Services and drafting a letter that Emmet County would like to remain with County Social Services.

Pluth also attended a Corridor meeting last week and an Economic Development meeting in Estherville. Board discussed upcoming meetings, cancellations and other meetings held telephonically.

Schumacher shared with the Board more information on his meeting with the Third Judicial District and their work on a re-entry into the workforce plan.

Emmet County Recorder, Diann Minion shared with the Board her plan to replace the 20 hour a week position in the Recorder's office.

Emmet County Assessor, Barb Bohm shared that her office had received a call from Julie Roisen from the Department of Revenue regarding the VFW and their concerns regarding how the Board of Review is to handle the situation. The Board of Review must follow the rules/statutes and that Emmet County is doing it correctly.

Bohm also informed the Board of legislation, that if signed by the Governor would leave 3 vacant positions on the Zoning Commission on July 1, 2020.

Emmet County Public Health Nurse Kathy Preston, along with Mary Moorman and Emergency Management Director Travis Sheridan updated the Board on all the steps they are taking to keep Emmet County residents safe. Emmet County Schools have closed for 4 weeks. Public Health and Emergency Management are continuing to push current and accurate information out to the public, schools, first responders, nursing homes, and the hospital. Preston says that part of that is encouraging social distancing, encouraging people to stay home if sick and encouraging no gatherings of over 10. There are currently no confirmed case of COVID-19 in Emmet County.

Sheridan has opened the Emergency Operations Center to a Level 1 monitor and Public Health and Emergency Management will be going virtual on all meetings. He has ordered extra Personal Protective Equipment for Emmet County first responders from the State of Iowa stockpile.

Sheridan is suggesting that Emmet County Declare a State of Emergency in order to track and potentially re-coop financial loses. Kossuth and Winneshiek Counties have already done this.

Discussion was held regarding restricting access to the Courthouse and all Courthouse facilities and ways to potentially hold future meetings of the Board of Supervisors.

Preston shared that she does have a limited staff and that overtime costs could happen and will be tracked.

Motion by Schumacher, second by Quastad, that as a precautionary measure Emmet County is declaring a state of emergency in order to receive financial assistance and protect essential services. All ayes, motion carried.

Penny Clayton and Bob Jensen came before the Board to request \$150,000 of LOSST dollars over the next three years. The bids for the pool came in \$710,000 higher than expected. EXCEL Estherville has dedicated \$100,000 a year for five years. Clayton explained that they will be looking for miscellaneous grants and a local campaign to raise funds. The City of Estherville has voted to move forward on the project. Motion by Schumacher, second by Quastad to approve and additional \$50,000 for FY2021 and \$50,000 for FY2022. Roll Call Vote: Ayes: Schumacher, Quastad, Pluth. Nays: Glasnapp.

The discussion on the Public Nuisance Tax Sale Ordinance is tabled until the next Board meeting.

Emmet County Auditor, Amy Sathoff shared with the Board information from last week's meetings at the Iowa State Association of

Counties Spring Conference next week including:

The County must go to a .Gov website and email addresses. Lisa Rosburg will start the paperwork to make this transition. Motion by Schumacher, second by Glasnapp, to authorize Chair John Pluth to sign the application when it is ready. All ayes, motion carried.

The Secretary of State does have the ability to modify the election method, if it comes to that. Many topics were discussed; combining precincts, encouraging voters to vote absentee, utilizing small disposable pens, and how do we get those in nursing homes their ballot. Vote by mail discussions were talked about at the meeting, however, for a Primary Election this would not work well. The Secretary also told us that the June 2, 2020 Primary Election will happen.

The Courthouse Computer network will also be adding additional security at the Secretary of State's recommendation.

Emmet County Mental Health Advocate, JoAnn Reed Annual Report is tabled until the next Board meeting.

Emmet County Engineer, Walter Davis-Oeth presented 2020 Mowing Bids to the Board. Bids are as follows:

	Manwarren	Zeman
Estherville	\$30	Not bid
Armstrong	\$50	\$40
Ringsted	\$25	\$25
Wallingford	\$24	\$40
Gruver	\$24	\$40

Motion by Schumacher, second by Glasnapp to award the Estherville, Wallingford and Gruver bids to Manwarren and the Armstrong Ringsted bids to Zeman. All ayes, motion carried.

Motion by Glasnapp, second by Schumacher, to restrict access to the Courthouse and All Courthouse Facilities beginning at 12:00 pm today. All ayes, motion carried.

The Board reviewed the following Manure Management Plans:

Owner	U	Facility Name	Facility ID#
Hilltop Hogs Inc.		Hilltop Hogs – Old Site	58134
UNI Swine LLC		UNI Swine LLC – Gjerde Site #2	64478
UNI Swine LLC		UNI Swine LLC – Gjerde Site #1	64480

Chairman Pluth adjourned the meeting at 11:24 am.

Amy M. Sathoff, Emmet County Auditor & Commissioner of Elections

John Pluth, Chairman